“12 Weeks in Bloomfield” Sing-Along

I’ve been contemplating our time here in Bloomfield and was thinking “wow, we’ve been here for twelve weeks!” and maybe it’s because it’s Christmas or perhaps I’m still delirious from the move but I was inspired to write a little ditty.

Please feel free to sing along as loudly as possible to the tune of “12 Days of Christmas.” A big thank you to Jon, who helped me tweak and twist to get it just right. And of course to Miney-Roo for providing endless entertainment and inspiration.

Extra points and my undying adoration for anyone who records themselves singing this and posts it for me to enjoy! Ready? Here we go!

12 Weeks in Bloomfield

IMG_1009
On our first week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
A shiny new set of house keys.

On our second week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Two hens a-laying, 
and a shiny new set of house keys.

On our third week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Three pretty pullets, Two hens a-laying
And a shiny new set of house keys

Reclaimed douglas fir from Heritage Salvage
On our fourth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me 

Flooring from salvage
Three pretty pullets, Two hens a-laying
And a fairly new set of house keys

IMG_0305
On our fifth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
(remember to stretch this one out)
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Flooring from salvage
Three pretty pullets, Two laying hens
And a slightly used set of house keys

On our sixth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Six pints of berries
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Flooring from salvage
ONE hawk attack, One missing pullet
And four chickens as scared as can be

On our seventh week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Bushels of apples
Six pints of berries
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
ONE laying hen (don’t ask), One normal pullet
And another who’s acting strangely 

On our eighth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Gulf fritillaries
Bushels of apples
Enough with the berries!
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
One laying hen, One pretty pullet
And another who’s following me

On our ninth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
A new deck in progress 
No fritillaries
Mounds of rotten apples
Stop with the berries!
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
One laying hen, One pretty pullet
And another that’s growing quickly!

On our tenth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Obnoxious gophers
New deck in progress 
Bye bye fritillaries
Mounds of rotten apples
No more blackberries
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
One laying hen, One pretty pullet
And another who’s getting feisty

On our eleventh week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Falling cypress branches
Football-sized gophers
New deck in progress 
Miss my fritillaries
No more rotten apples
No more blackberries
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
One laying hen, One pretty pullet
And a ‘she that just might be a ‘he’

On our twelfth week in Bloomfield our new home gave to me
Beautiful sunsets
Falling cypress branches
Football-sized gophers
Drinks on the new deck
No fritillaries
Bare apple trees
Zero blackberries
F I V E   R U S T I C   B A R N S
Old wooden floors
One laying hen, One pretty pullet
And a rooster that’s crowing loudly!

 

To my wonderful followers of Unfettered Fox, friends at Fiesta Friday #100 (woohoo!), facebookers, twitterers, ScrapHound Studio fans, you three that get posts by email, and anyone else who has stumbled across this blog and stuck around, thank you for being part of our crazy adventure.

I wish you all the happiest holidays full of love and good cheer… and singing, lots and lots of very loud singing!

~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Barbara Dutra says:

    Happy Holidays Sherri and Jon!! Love your blog and so happy for you to be in your fabulous new home!! Wishing you many more good experiences stories in 2016!!!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you Barbara! I’m sure 2016 will keep us on our toes, hopefully in good ways. Either way I’ll write about it LOL Happiest holidays to you and Joel 😘

      Like

  2. Lucy says:

    Happy Holidays!
    Miss you here in Solana Beach but celebrating your beautiful new life up north.
    Hope we can visit in the New Year!!!
    All good things for your 2016 song next year!
    Xoxo Lucy and Jerry

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Miss you guys too! We would LOVE a visit, I hope you’ll squeeze us into your jet-setting next year. Jerry could happily cycle hundreds of gorgeous miles while we sip wine and eat grilled oysters 😉 Love from both of us ~

      Like

  3. Angie says:

    I was reading your comment about bringing a sing-along to Fiesta Friday and then all of a sudden it disappeared! What. is. going. on? Anyway, LOVE the song! I might just be bringing a song myself to the party. And congratulations on the new home. Sounds like an ideal place! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Cool! One song (all about me) isn’t really enough for a party the size of Fiesta Friday #100. See ya there 😀

      Like

  4. Pat says:

    Check your text messages! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      OMG you sang to me!!! That was AWESOME! Thank you, you can’t imagine how happy that made me 🙂 Happy holidays to you and yours Pat! Much love and undying adoration ~ xoxo

      Like

  5. Ginger says:

    Thank you for sharing those beautiful moments with us at Fiesta Friday – you must feel like the luckiest family alive! Have a wonderful Christmas and may the New Year bring you plenty of more ideas for next year’s ditty 😉
    Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Ginger x

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      haha yes, I’m sure the new year will bring me more than enough ideas if these past three months are any indication. Happy new year to you Ginger, and happy FF 100! ~ sheri

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! What great fun! Your new home seems like a great place to be!!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks Sonal, we do love it here! Happy new year to you, see you in 2016 🙂 sheri

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just love how you turned “The Twelve Days of Christmas” into your own personal story. Great pic of the gopher – we always saw their tunnels and running off but never a face out of its hole! You get to wake up to ole Mr. Rooster – thanks so much for sharing a fun post with Fiesta Friday #100.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks so much Judi, glad you enjoyed it! Those damn gophers, they are so brazen here I must have 10 photos of him looking around, deciding which of my plants to eat next. Grrr. Happy New Year to you, see you in 2016 🙂

      Like

  8. Really wonderful and congratulations on the new home, the chickens the wood the deck and even the obnoxious gopher. How clever you are. Welcome and thank you for the song and pics. Loved it.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to read it. Happy FF 100, see you in the new year 🙂

      Like

  9. Kathy Sturr says:

    How FUN! Still chuckling and that is quite a crowing rooster! Merriest to you!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      And to you as well Kathy!

      Like

  10. Hilda says:

    Thanks for your entertaining song and pics. All the best to you in 2016 in your lovely new home.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you Hilda, happy new year to you and yours as well! Btw I am looking into an “edible and medicinal plant” workshop so I can maybe put some of your great advice to use (and not be so scared of picking wild things 😉

      Like

      1. Hilda says:

        Being a little bit scared is good, but the more we learn the less reason to be scared. I hope you can share some of your experiences at this edible and medicinal plant workshop with us.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          I certainly will! Well, I’ll try, if I happen to blog before I forget it all 😛

          Like

  11. What a fun glimpse into your year! Happy New Years & Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Happy new year to you as well, and happy FF (now that I’m finally back online and it’s already FF 101 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Please join the conversation!

