We’re Buying A Home!

All your positive thoughts worked! We are buying the little house in the tiny town I wrote about in my last (very long ago) post. Our offer was accepted and we made one last trip up to Bloomfield, CA, (pop. 150 or so?) to make sure. We were very lucky to find a wonderful place to stay right across the street so we could stay in the neighborhood and see what it’s really like. If you’re ever headed to Western Petaluma, check out Twisted Horn Ranch where you can meet our new neighbor Rocky:

Rocky the Longhorn Steer is the family pet at Twisted Horn
Rocky the Longhorn Steer is the family pet at Twisted Horn

I might be jumping the gun a little as we haven’t signed final papers, but we’re so close to the end I decided I could write about it. The house itself is a basic 50’s ranch house, not terribly exciting but totally livable. It sits on the north side of a very pretty acre of land with views for days across a meadow, creek and beautiful rolling hills. Here’s a view of the future garden from the kitchen window, which Jon will certainly enjoy as he washes dishes:

viewofgarden

We’ll be adding trees and plenty of butterfly-friendly plants. Happily there are already a handful of apple trees dotting the property, including a four-way graft that I can’t wait to sample! But while the meadow is lovely, possibly our favorite part of this property are the old barns and garage that run along one whole side of the property.

An old garage will serve as our workshop while we get the barns in working order
An old garage will serve as our workshop while we get the barns in working order

One day the barns will be the most amazing workshop / garden room ever. They have loads of space and tons of character, but they’re going to take some work. It is entirely possible that they are held up by sheer determination (with the help of blackberry brambles).

The old barns are still standing, but might just be held up by blackberry brambles.
The old barns are still standing, but might just be held up by blackberry brambles.

The area is absolutely gorgeous! The nearby town of Valley Ford, just a 5 minute drive west, offers three restaurants, a hotel, a market, post office and a mercantile featuring local crafts and artisan goods. We are madly in love with Estero Cafe, which serves up breakfast and lunch featuring locally sourced organic eggs, veggies, cheese and more. Across the street is the only hotel nearby. We stayed in one of its five rooms our last night in town and ate a huge, tasty meal at the restaurant downstairs, Rocker Oysterfellers.

Valley Ford, CA
Five minutes’ drive is Valley Ford which offers three restaurants, a market, hotel, post office and general store with locally crafted goods.

I could go on and on but I will save some of our discoveries for later. And as for photos of the house itself, those will have to wait as the current tenants are fairly well entrenched and I can’t bear to share photos of “my” house featuring someone else’s stuff.

We have a lot of projects planned, so there will be no lack of before-during-after photos in the future! Those will have to wait, unfortunately, until the tenants move out and we get our house packed up and sold. Hopefully that won’t take as long or be as painful as I think it will. Stay tuned…

~~~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~~~~

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I am so excited for you in your future home! Since I am old old old, I have only one more move in me to be closer to family now that walking is a major problem. After that, they will have to carry me out feet first from the apartment. Consequently, I will be looking forward to your posts and pictures and live vicariously through you and your youth!
    Love, Pat

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Pat you are too funny. I can hardly imagine making this move even at my age (youth feels like a long way away) so I will gladly share pics of our adventures! I am sorry to hear that walking has become so difficult. I hope your move is an easy one. It will be nice to be closer to the family 🙂

      Like

  2. jon@scraphound.net says:

    With that view, we’re going to be fighting over who gets to do the dishes. I can hardly wait!     http://www.ScrapHoundStudio.com

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      You win 😉 Now let’s GO already!!!

      Like

  3. Kathy Sturr says:

    Oh so happy for you! I love that Jon will enjoy that view while doing the dishes. What greeeaat neighbors – I love that Rocky still has his horns. And the barns – oh my – so much dreaming, so much possibility and potential, so charming! Congratulations!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      I know, it’s almost overwhelming how much potential there is. Hopefully it doesn’t paralyze us! Our project list is several feet long and growing Lol! It’s nice to know Rocky is nearby to offer comfort and support 😉

      Like

  4. Hilda says:

    Congratulations. It looks like the perfect place for you. Can’t wait to see what you do with the garden/fields.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks Hilda, I can’t wait to dig in already!

      Like

  5. Angie says:

    Congratulations!!! It’s so exciting, Sheri! Keep us posted, please! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks Angie, I definitely will! I am overwhelmed already with things I want to share. It is so pretty up there ~

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Robbie says:

    Congrats!!!!!!! That is me jumping up and down so excited to hear about your new place. My youngest moved to Boston so I have been suffering from “empty nest”….shoot, he got a job and just graduated from college-I should be happy-LOL…but I Have not been reading blogs and stopped by today-BECAUSE-last week a young girl we teach in our teen program at our local church is bringing me baby monarchs-thought of you! I had to stop by and wondered where or what you have been doing:-)
    HOW EXCITING!!! What an adventure:-) I can hardly wait to see what you do with an acre:-)

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Robbie I feel terrible, I never saw this nice message! I guess I had a couple other things going on but still, no excuse for not responding. I haven’t been reading many blogs either, just keeping my head above water here. Have been thinking about those blueberries you recommended. Apparently they should do well here, along with raspberries, blackberries, and many other wonderful things I couldn’t grow in SD. I hope all is well with you, I will stop by your page and say hello 🙂

      Like

Please join the conversation!

