Garden Surprises

Even though I’m keeping the garden small and simple this season, there are still surprises popping up! This happens to me fairly often… often enough that my husband said I should rename my blog The Absentminded Gardener. I’d be mad but he’s totally right. Every year, despite all my planning for space, weather, water, etc., I have a habit of sowing seeds when and where inspiration strikes. Sometimes I make a note… somewhere, in one of my 20 notebooks. Or maybe it was on the back of that envelope in the pocket of my garden smock I washed last week?

Homegrown Snow Peas
Surprise Snow Peas

I’ve really tried to be organized but I can’t help myself! And so as I stroll through my little garden with friends I’m often as surprised as anyone when sprouts appear. And then there’s weeks of waiting and watching to see what on earth is growing! In this case, I was absolutely positive I was growing sugar snap peas. I know I planted them because I had to do it three times thanks to a sneaky skunk that squeezes through my goatwire fencing. So I’m watching these beautiful pea vines grow and flower, little peas a sprouting, and I’m waiting for them to plump up. When a week went by with no sign of plumpage I finally had to acknowledge that they were full-sized – and that they were snow peas! Lovely snow peas. Hmm, I do vaguely remember planting snow peas.

Snow White Carrots from Baker Creek
Snow White Carrots from Baker Creek

I’ve also just pulled my first full-sized carrots from the garden… and they’re white! They’re so cool! Then I remembered I got a smattering of these seeds in a trade last summer, Snow White Carrots from Baker Creek. I thought they just never popped up but I guess they were waiting for their moment. I haven’t tasted them yet but I’m excited to serve them up to friends tonight and see what the flavor is like. I’ll let them taste first, just in case.

I love that even a small garden can provide so much entertainment and even a little bit of nourishment. Now if my butterflies would just show up and bless me with some eggs I’d be in business!

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love your blog, and that you admit to being a little dis-organized!!
    Hope to get one of your “animals” for my backyard, which is now being completely relandscaped. Let’s talk.

    Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      A little disorganized is an understatement! Ah well. So yes, let’s talk critters. Forgive me but are you a Barbara I know? It’s all so cloak-and-dagger on wordpress.

      Like

  2. As always I enjoy your blog. Having a brown thumb, I love reading about your successes, planned and otherwise. Yes, I hope your butterflies return soon.
    Pat Sherwood

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks Pat! You know, I have a brown thumb for flowers. It’s a relief to find something I CAN grow, although I have my share of failures. I’d still rather be in the garden than about anywhere else 🙂

      Like

  3. Amanda Smith says:

    I’m a plopper and not a planner when it comes to gardening. I’ve had surprises like this too. Last year it was parsley and volunteer tomatoes that came from last years cast aways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Haha, plopper, I like it Amanda! Volunteers are sometimes my best plants. I figure if they grow somewhere it’s because they know better than I do and I try to leave them alone. I’m curious to see what my volunteer tomato is this year, it just got its first flowers! And you know parsley will attract swallowtail butterflies. Keep an eye out, they have the cutest stripey caterpillars!

      Like

  4. daisy says:

    I can relate, although I am working toward more planning in the garden. We have our first Monarch chrysalis of the season, so exciting! We host several types of caterpillars and are looking forward to giving away many! Hope you enjoy your stroll through the garden. Who knows what you’ll find?! ;0D

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      WOW how cool, I only just found my first monarch eggs of the season! Where are you located? I am working toward providing a better butterfly habitat so they hang around more. I hope you’ll be posting about your butters, I love learning about other species (and then planting their hosts and waiting impatiently for babies) ~ sheri

      Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Glad you enjoyed it! I’m guessing you can relate?

      Like

      1. Definately, it made me realise I am only human after all:)

        Like

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          Yay! Gardening sure has a way of humbling a person, doesn’t it? lol

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I have the same problem, I start out the season being organized but it somehow gets lost. I’ve also found that snap pea packages can be mislabeled (or maybe mixed?), I have snow peas among my snap peas as well. And, I know that none of the seed packages I planted last fall were snow peas.

    Adventures! I cannot grow carrots, it’s so disappointing. Good for you that any came up.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Hi Liz, thanks for sharing that! I love hearing about other people’s garden misadventures, misery loves company and all haha. I’d love to blame the seed packet, but unfortunately the sugar snaps were my own saved from last year! Ah well, it’s all good. Carrots remain a mystery to me but I’ll keep trying, maybe one day I’ll grow an orange one.

      Like

  6. Kathy Sturr says:

    Ha ha this made me laugh! I tend to do the same thing – in fact, I probably weed out seeds I planted! I remember reading about a compost garden once where a blank bed was reserved for anything that volunteered in the compost so they could grow up. I thought that was a cool idea but probably not for tomatoes. Curious as to how those carrots taste! Thank you so much for the popcorn seeds – they are beautiful! I will start some in my little greenhouse soon. I think I should send you some night and day nasturtium! I am still thinking about the creamsicle nasturtium you mentioned …

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      I wouldn’t say no to a new nasturtium 😉 I like the idea of a special bed for volunteers. I keep finding things sprouting in my worm bin, I should rescue them! Funny you mention killing your own sprouts… Jon once murdered a whole field of poppies thinking they were weeds. It took six months to figure out why our poppies never came up. At least it never gets boring!

      Like

  7. Angie says:

    I love this, Sheri! I, too, love finding surprises in the garden! Except for bamboo shoots from the neighbor’s! Those I don’t like! 😀

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Nooo bamboo shoots are not cool! But it’s nice to hear other gardeners can relate. Who wants a predictable garden anyway? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Robbie says:

    priceless…I am so not OCD-LOL
    snow white carrots-neat!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Yeah they are cool! I bought a pack while in Petaluma at the Baker Creek Seed Bank. I love that place! Hoping to work there if I can, otherwise I’ll go broke just visiting!!

      Like

Please join the conversation!

