Trouble in the Garden Part II + Grilled Shishitos

Grrr. Gardening. Some weeks it’s all “ooh, look at the pretty flowers,” and “hey is that a baby cucumber?” Other weeks it’s like “hey, what is eating my baby cucumber?” and “crap and damn did I seriously hammer a spike through a sprinkler line? Twice?!?” Hmph. Guess which I’m having?

Blossom End Rot on Cherry Tomatoes
Blossom End Rot on Cherry Tomatoes

Suffice it to say, things have not gone smoothly this week. I decided to cheer myself up by writing a little ditty about it. I hope that you enjoy reading it. Please hum along if you’d like. 🙂

TROUBLE IN THE GARDEN

On Monday my tomatoes
were looking a bit grim,
They’d got the blossom end rot
on their chinny chin chins.

I fed them with some eggshells
and soaked them really well,
I just hope my ‘maters
will not go straight to hell.

Tuesday was a big day,
I moved a bunch of plants!
I set up all new sprinklers,
fed D.E. to the ants.

Putting in some edging
things got a little tough,
but hammering with all my might
I set it well enough.

When Wednesday came the sun was out
the day was fresh and new,
I turned on my new sprinklers
and they began to spew!

A geyser shot up in the air,
and I felt like a boob.
Somehow I drove a plastic spike
right through a plastic tube.

Moving on I noticed aphids
all over my kale,
And also that my artichokes
were looking really frail.

I dusted them organically
and hoped that up they’d perk,
But later found the ants and aphids
still quite hard at work.

On Thursday I thought surely
things were going to be good,
but apparently raccoons last night
were in a party mood.

They’d climbed the fence (I knew they would),
and dug up all my beds.
They trampled my poor onions
and broke their little heads.

My chard was smashed, the path a mess,
the peppers were knocked-over.
I turned around, went back to bed.
Don’t wake me til it’s over!

Written by occasionally frustrated gardener Sheri Fox

Grilled Shishito Peppers with Olive Oil, Salt, Lemon and Soy Sauce
Grilled Shishito Peppers tossed with Olive Oil, Salt, Lemon and Soy Sauce

I know, woe is me. But I will survive this. Tomorrow I’ll put on my big girl pants, fix the pipe (or watch Jon do it), tend to the fence, kill some pests and talk to my plants as I do every day. I’m also going to swing by Fiesta Friday #17 over at The Novice Gardener’s blog because those folks are a hoot and I know they’ll cheer me up. I was very surprised and honored to see that my Home for Bees post is featured this week! Thanks guys 🙂 Please feel free to join the party, all are welcome! You can find more details here.

I’m bringing with me one of my favorite treats, Grilled Shishito Peppers. If you haven’t had these, they are a small, sweet, thin-skinned pepper. Although they’re sweet, occasionally you’ll get one that’s painfully hot and will burn like lava on your tongue making it virtually impossible to taste any food afterward. You will sweat and your eyes will burn. We call it Pepper Roulette. Try it, it’s fun!

Shishito Peppers on the Grill
Shishito Peppers on the Grill

YUMMY SHISHITO PEPPERS

Of course, I like to grill them but they’re great on the stovetop too. They key is to coat them lightly with olive oil and cook them on high, flipping when the first side is charred and then cooking until soft. This takes about 5-7 minutes. Remove them from the pan, toss with lots of sea salt, lemon juice and a splash of soy sauce (optional) or togarashi spice blend if you’ve got it, and chow down. If you’re scared of heat, take a little nibble from the tip first. You’ll know right away if you’ve won (or lost) Pepper Roulette! Good luck!

~~~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~~~~

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, sure, Sheri, with my luck, I’d be the one with lava on my tongue! That happened with padron peppers. I planted 5 plants, they were all hot! Except the really itty bitty ones. You want seeds for them, too? I still have a lot. Email me your address. But what am I getting in return? Can I have a bee house?

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Oh hey I was looking for padrons! I’ll take them for sure. Happy to make you a bee house. Let me see what I can find and I’ll knock one together for ya 😉 I have lots of seeds too if you want any. I’ll email you soon.

      Like

      1. No, no, Sheri! Don’t send me the bee house. I was just kidding. Shipping will cost you an arm and a leg. I wouldn’t do that to you. But we can swap seeds.

        Like

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          Well how about we start with seeds and we’ll see what happens?? I love swapping – did metal flowers-for-granola bars (Jenna’s) recently and have a bbq apron-for-sculpture in progress. Oh and metal flowers-for-smoked meats! Okay, so I want padrons and moringa, but what do you want? I’ll go find your email addy… see ya soon 😉

          Like

          1. Not sure what I want. Don’t worry about it.

            Like

            1. Sheri Fox says:

              Hm. Okay, well, I might just accidentally build an extra bee house… just in case 😉

              Like

              1. You crack me up. Send me your address.

                Like

  2. Lori says:

    Wow Sheri- you DID have a rough gardening week! I absolutely loved your ditty…you are a wonderful writer!
    The peppers look good… But I’d be so scared to get a really hot one. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Glad you enjoyed it Lori! It was fun to write. Gotta keep myself amused or I’ll just cry LOL. Don’t be scared of the peppers, they’re worth the risk!

      Like

      1. Lori says:

        I hope you write more ditties in the future! So fun! Ok, I’ll try to be adventurous! 🙂

        Like

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          I think I might write them all this way from now on. Keeps me from blathering 😉 Let me know if you try the peppers!

          Like

          1. Lori says:

            Hehehe…well, they sure are witty and fun! Will do!

            Like

  3. Alex says:

    This year is my 3rd attempt at gardening and I can definitely sympathize with many of your gardening woes. While I have some promising sprouts I’m not allowing myself to get too excited yet. But this peppers look like a perfect cheerful treat to help us get over the gardening troubles!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Good for you for sticking with it! I’ve been gardening maybe five years and have had lots of ups and downs. It’s easy to get discouraged but it’s SO EXCITING when things go well. Good luck with your sprouts, I hope they make you some lovely veggies 🙂 sheri

      Like

  4. Sherry Keogh says:

    That was awesome! Thank you! We play padron roulette every year and its delicious!! Hope you weekend improves!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Haha so you know what I’m talking about! Angie (the lovely host of Fiesta Friday) has offered me some padron seeds so I guess I’ll have a chance to play padron roulette next year. 🙂

      Like

  5. Hi Sheri – I know that your ditty was borne out of frustration however it is brilliant! I hope you have a better weekend and week ahead! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks Selma! It really was fun to write, and actually so much easier than a whole blog post. Who knew? Happy Fiesta Friday to you too 🙂

      Like

  6. Hope you have a good time this evening! It is so annoying when your hard work looks like it is in tatters.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks, yeah, isn’t it? The old gardening yo-yo. By next week, if all goes well, I’ll be writing happy songs about my beautiful peppers… unless I just jinxed myself 😉

      Like

      1. Yes, best not jinx yourself!

        Like

  7. FireBonnet says:

    FOFL pepper roulette! My husband is ready to play! You should see him suck down the wasabi… and then cry and cough. Silly wabbit. As for the ditty, it’s genius! You are my kind of girl (well except for the gardening and cooking 😉 ). But I’ll talk art all day with you and we can laugh til our bellies hurt. Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

  8. Pepper roulette sounds like the perfect party game! Count me in!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      It’s lots of fun, especially if you enjoy watching your friends cry while trying to simultaneously drink beer and stuff napkins in their mouths 😉 Party!

      Like

  9. Lynda says:

    Who knew you were a poet as well as an awesome writer? What fun to read! Sorry about all the damage. 😦

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Yeah I probably get it from my mom 😉 xo

      Like

  10. Kaila511 says:

    Oh no! Honestly, I have little to no gardening experience, but it’s great to see you put a sense of humor into your gardening woes! I’m sure some day I’ll be able to relate to them as well. 😉 Thanks for bringing the grilled shishito peppers to the fiesta! The bit of lemon sounds delicious. Have a wonderful weekend!!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Luckily the pro’s in gardening far outweigh the cons, otherwise I’m not sure anyone would get past the first season! You just gotta laugh. Hopefully soon I’ll have pretty pictures of fresh organic veggies. Thanks for the note, you have a great weekend too!

      Like

  11. Jhuls says:

    Somebody once told me that when you are frustrated, write it. Writing due to some frustrations leads to a very beautiful piece of art. And this, Sheri, is indeed very beautiful. I’m sorry to hear that you had a rough week on your gardening. You’ll never know, next week will be different. ❤

    I might fly like a firework when I try these peppers, but that's the great thing with having these. Right, Sheri?

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      I appreciate your kind comments about my ditty Jhuls. It really did help to write it! I was so annoyed but now it’s just funny. Will have to remember this for the future. Undoubtedly I have plenty of garden frustrations ahead, but hopefully many delicious veggies too. Good luck with the shishito and have a wonderful weekend… hopefully without your mouth on fire 🙂

      Like

      1. Jhuls says:

        Haha! I am also writing when I’m annoyed, Sheri! Then after a while when you have calmed down and read what you write, you’ll feel that it’s funny! 😀
        Hope you have a good week, Sheri! ❤ See you on the next FF. 😉

        Like

  12. I miss Shishitous. Your grilled ones are looking so yum! Do you grow them yourself?

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you! I am growing my first ones this year. I have three plants hopefully about to burst! Just curious, what do you mean “you miss them?” Are they hard to find where you are?

      Like

      1. Sheri Fox says:

        Oh I see – a Japanese cook in Belfast. That must be quite a change! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

        Like

      2. I’m Japanese but living in Belfast now. I don’t see them at local supermarkets, and only the time I had them was when my Japanese friend found it at a farmers’ market by chance. I wonder if it is possible to grow them here.

        Like

Please join the conversation!

