San Diego On Fire… Again?

So San Diego is on fire. Again. It’s basic arithmetic, I suppose. Lack of rain + hot, dry Santa Ana winds + 90 degree weather = fire. I’m sure we have all been quietly predicting and expecting it while holding onto a thread of hope that it would magically skip us this year. I wish to extend my gratitude to the hundreds of firefighters, police and others still in the air and on the ground fighting to keep people safe.

I am sitting here in my house with an eye on the news watching as fires continue to pop up – Carlsbad, Escondido, Camp Pendleton, Fallbrook. It’s really depressing thinking of all the people trying to pick up their kids from school, corralling pets, deciding what’s worth saving with just minutes to evacuate their homes. Over 30 homes destroyed already in a fire that only started this morning. Too sad.

In the garden, spring 2014
In the garden, spring 2014 – That roof in the background is the 6000 sq’ fire station

On a positive note, I finally understand how useful Twitter can be! Seeing a constant stream of updates that don’t include the words ‘Cardiff by the Sea’ and ‘evacuate’ is a little reassuring. I’m not really concerned for us here as these fires rarely, if ever, have jumped the necessary highways and lagoons to reach the coast. And we’ve got a huge new cinderblock fire station right behind the house. People always ask us how we feel about living so close to a fire station. Today, I can honestly say I feel pretty good about it! Still, it’s hard to relax and go about my business knowing what friends and strangers are dealing with just miles from my home.

In the garden, spring 2014
View from my favorite seat the garden, spring 2014

Anyway, I’m mostly just rambling in an effort to keep myself distracted. I’ve been out checking on my garden several times today and wrapped some tomatoes with shade cloth to help them survive the blistering wind. I took some pretty pics out there the other day so I thought I’d share them now to cheer me up. Hopefully these won’t become ‘Before’ pictures.

And here’s a picture of my kitty Bella, because pictures of cats always make people happy. Please keep us all in your thoughts, and say a little prayer for a nice cool breeze off the ocean. Lots of people would really appreciate that.

Bella in the sunshine
Bella in the sunshine

~~~~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9 Comments Add yours

  1. So sorry to hear the news. Stay safe.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you, we will try!

      Like

  2. The garden looks amazing. Will keep those affected by the fire in my prayers.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you and thank you!

      Like

  3. Such a scary situation and thank goodness for twitter. When we had riots here a few years ago it was invaluable. Your garden is so beautiful – what a wonderful distraction to have! Keeping you safe in my thoughts x

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you so much Selma!

      Like

    2. ‘Distraction’ was the word that came to my mind, too!

      Like

  4. Garden looking good – I hope the fired don’t reach you!!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks, me too! Too close for comfort but I don’t think it will reach us.

      Like

Please join the conversation!

