Easy Coconut Thai Grilled Shrimp? Yes please!

It’s been crazy times here on the farm! Well, farm may be overstating it, but in the last few months we’ve expanded the vegetable garden and squeezed organic and heirloom veggie seedlings into every nook and cranny. I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say we’ve tripled the size of the garden. My knees and fingertips certainly wouldn’t argue. They’re killing me from putting in a gazillion new drippers!

As I mentioned in my last post, we also just finished building a fence complete with a colorful gate made from assorted metal dumpster treasures. Here’s a pic, in case you missed it:

We built a new garden gate and fence at the ScrapHound Studio veggie patch
We built a new gate and fence for the main veggie patch ~ ScrapHound Studio

By the time weekends roll around we are exhausted and just wanted to chill out with a tumbler of torrontes over ice, good friends and tasty food. It’s been gorgeous here in San Diego, so last weekend we invited some friends for a spontaneous grill-and-chill on the back deck. I wanted to keep it really simple so I popped down to Seaside Market for a hunk of wild yellowtail and a pile of fresh wild shrimp.

I like to grill shrimp with the shells on because it keeps them moist and tender. Peeling them while I eat also makes me feel like I’m on vacation in an exotic locale. Picture this: you pull up a chair at a beat-up wooden table in a casual outdoor bar/restaurant (is that a palapa overhead?), and order grilled shrimp and a cold beverage. Moments later, a waiter dumps a pile of steaming shrimp and lemon wedges on butcher paper in the middle of the table. You take a sip of your icy cold bev and casually reach for a shrimp, peel back the shell, squeeze on a little lemon, and bite into the moist, tender morsel. You close your eyes and chew slowly, savoring the moment. You lick your salty fingers and toss the shells back into the middle while all around you a bunch of your favorite people are doing the exact same thing. All that can be heard are happy lip-smacking sounds and clinking ice cubes. Ahhhh, heaven.

Super scrumptious Coconut Lime Grilled Shrimp
Super scrumptious Coconut Lime Grilled Shrimp

Ahem…sorry, my mind wandered off for a minute. Okay so normally I make an olive oil-lemon-garlic marinade for shrimp but I was craving something a little sweet and spicy… which led me to Thai. I’ve always been scared to make Thai food at home and generally been disappointed with my efforts, which is sad because I love it so much! I once watched a pad thai challenge on Throwdown with Bobby Flay thinking I’d be inspired to try again. I was not. I was totally freaked out! It just looked way too hard.

BUT I am happy to say that this effort changed my mind! See how happy I am?

sheriwithshrimp
It was really easy and tasty – sweet, salty, spicy – and the leftover marinade made a scrumptious sauce. Seriously, it was so good that one of my friends drank it right from the bowl, which gives me an idea for a soup recipe… hmmm. Since I’m feeling social, I think I’ll head over to Fiesta Fridays at The Novice Gardener’s lovely blog and share my recent success story. I’m a little nervous since those folks rock in the kitchen, but they seems like a pretty decent crowd, I’m sure they’ll be nice to the newbie.

As usual with my so-called recipes, it’s a mish-mosh of ideas I found online, ingredients I had on hand and modest amounts of guesswork. I didn’t measure anything, just put stuff in a bowl and tasted it along the way to make adjustments. If you want to give it a go, the basic marinade ingredients are:

Full-Fat Coconut Milk (don’t worry, it’s good for you now)
Minced Garlic
Chopped Cilantro
Lime Juice and Zest from One Lime
Fish Sauce (or salt)
Red Chili Pepper
Brown Sugar
Coconut Oil (or Vegetable Oil)
White wine (if needed to thin sauce)

Start, please, by cleaning your shrimp. This is easy with kitchen shears, just slice up the back of the shell, focus on something happy and pull out the, um, you know… stuff. Remove the little feets. Rinse and set aside to dry.

Mix marinade ingredients in a bowl, adjust to suit your taste, and add the shrimp. Heat the grill to high. After 10-15 minutes, use tongs to remove shrimp from marinade, shaking off the excess. Place shrimp on the grill. After about two minutes the shells should turn pink. When they do, flip them over and cook until the flesh is opaque white but still moist-looking, 2-3 minutes more. They should be fully cooked and super tender.

Before serving, warm the remaining marinade (don’t overheat like I did) and pour into dipping bowls for your guests. We poured the excess over brown jasmine rice and the grilled yellowtail.

Now set down that icy beverage and dig in! The louder the slurping the better.

And please, if you wouldn’t mind, share your favorite shrimp marinades with me in the comments – you can just write them in or link to your own blog. With grilling season around the corner I have a feeling I’ll be needing more tasty ideas!

~~~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~~~~

33 Comments Add yours

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Did I do it right? Am I at the party??

      Like

      1. You totally did it right!! You are at the party, and thank you so much for joining us, I’m so glad you did, and I know that everyone else will be too!! Especially after they see this fabulous shrimp! Wow! Does that look delicious… I am all for a spontaneous grill and chill…anytime.. that sounds like a wonderful idea right about now!
        Thanks so much for bringing such an awesome dish to the table on Fiesta Friday… I am definitely going to give this shrimp a try! It’s nice to meet you Sheri, and I look forward to catching up on your blog! 🙂

        Like

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          Thank you, nice to meet you too and I’m happy to be here. I love your blog – looking forward to delving into it! I hope you try these shrimp and, despite the utter lack of specifics, they turn out amazing. If not… well, let me know and I’ll do better! Meanwhile, I blog mostly about organic gardening so I hope you’ll stop by and say hello 🙂

          Like

  1. Nancy says:

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday! Love the Thai twist to your grilled shrimp. Looks delicious. 🙂
    Absolutely gorgeous garden too…love the gate, and it’s spunky color!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thanks so much Nancy! Good to finally make it to the party 🙂 And yes, we do like our spunky colors here! Our house is a crazy mish-mosh rainbow so I figure the garden should be even more so.

      Like

  2. The shrimp looks amazing! i love grilling shrimp… this recipe looks so tasty!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you! It really was delicious. I grill everything and wasn’t sure about grilling the milky coating but it worked great. Always fun to experiment! If you have a favorite recipe I’d love to hear it 🙂

      Like

      1. I grill a lot. We live in San Diego, so I can grill all year around. I think grilling is the best, easy, quick and less dishes to clean! I will try your shrimp recipe for sure!

        Like

        1. Sheri Fox says:

          You’re kidding, I’m in Cardiff by the Sea! We’re neighbors 🙂

          Like

          1. small world:) it’s nice to meet you, Sheri! Olga

            Like

  3. This looks absolutely delicious! Love the marinade with coconut milk and lime! Lovely! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you! Honestly, I can’t wait to make it again. Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

      Like

  4. thebrookcook says:

    Yum! I love that full fat coconut milk is good for you now 🙂 I always pick up light coconut milk at Trader Joe’s, but can definitely taste the difference when I order Thai curry takeout… I guess I should make the change since it’s so healthy! 🙂
    Your colorful gate is so much fun too 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Glad I’ve inspired you to join the dark side 😉 I bet it’s delicious with low fat too but I use any excuse to eat full-fat. I am ecstatic that butter is healthy now too! In moderation, of course. Thanks for stopping by and saying hello, Happy FF to you too 🙂

      Like

  5. The shrimps look delicious, love thai food, so this one is right up my alley. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      I’m crazy for Thai. Someday I’ll make a decent curry… I hope. Enjoy, and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Oh that looks divine! I’ve never cooked with cardamom or fenugreek though I think I have cardamom from making chai. I love Indian flavors but need to experiment more. Your blog looks like a good place to start. Lovely photos too. Thanks for sharing! ~ sheri

      Like

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday! Those are some awesome looking shrimp! I wish I could buy them that big where I live! Your recipe looks over the top delicious! Can’t wait to try it even if is with some smaller shrimp! 😀

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Thank you so much, it’s lovely to be here with all you amazing chefs! Shame you can’t get big shrimp but I think it would be delicious with any, or mahi mahi, even chicken. It’s just a nice combination of flavors. I’m looking forward to diving into your blog too – so many gorgeous photos, and I’m sure the food tastes as good as it looks 🙂 sheri

      Like

  7. saucygander says:

    I could picture myself sitting at the table, peeling shrimp and reaching for that ice cold beverage! Great post, and great story. 🙂
    I’m a bit boring when it comes to fresh seafood, I just want it ultra fresh and cooked as simply as possible – so just lemon and olive oil for shrimp, and maybe ginger and shallots for fish

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Yay! So glad you enjoyed it! I hear you on the fish front. If it’s super fresh, simple is the way to go, but those seasonings sound wonderful, not boring at all. I love ginger and shallots on just about everything, especially in sauteed greens. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I’ll pop over and see what you’re up to 🙂

      Like

  8. Patty Nguyen says:

    Of course Throwdown freaked you out, Sheri! Those people are intense! Your shrimp look amazing. And too funny about not worrying about full fat coconut milk because it’s good for you now. 😀

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Those people are crazy, right?!? LOL Thanks for the encouragement. I feel much better now. So glad my post gave you a laugh ~ I appreciate you stopping by and reining me in 😉

      Like

  9. Jhuls says:

    Found you through Fiesta Friday. 😉 This looks lovely!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Hi Jhuls, nice to meet you and thank you! I just laughed my way through your empanada post. Happy to know another messy cooker 🙂

      Like

  10. Sheri, this probably comes way too late (bad, bad host!) but welcome to the fiesta, finally! Shrimps look fantastic, no wonder you look so happy! I saw that same throw down show. I hunted the restaurant! Hahaha…that’s how I deal with intimidation. So happy you came to party with us. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Hunted down the restaurant? I didn’t even think of that! Thanks for inviting me to the party. I can’t even snark at you for not commenting earlier as your wonderful blogger friends gave me a very nice welcome. My blog was a-hoppin’ and I met lots of nice new people! I’ll be back 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m not sure it was worth it. Pad thai was good, but I’ve had better. Of all places, in Pittsburgh! FF14 will be open soon. We’ll see you!

        Like

  11. Yes please! I happen to have some gorgeous shrimp in my fridge. You set the tone for this, just right. Not sure how I missed this one.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Yay! I’m so happy you found it in time. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I’d love to hear how they turn out and if you make any tasty adjustments 🙂

      Like

Please join the conversation!

