My, How Your Garden Has Grown!

Last night I was scrolling facebook and loads of ‘Happy Earth Day’ posts started popping up. I like to think that we do our best to treat every day as Earth Day in our household. We recycle, reuse, repair, redistribute, repurpose – basically we try not to buy anything new unless it’s absolutely necessary (like cute boots… I am a girl after all). The garden is often the last stop before the landfill and it’s amazing how many sneaky ways one can use “garbage” in the garden. I’m not even talking compost, I’m talking about repurposing junk into something really useful. For instance, we couldn’t find a new shade to fit our umbrella and I needed a cucumber trellis, et voilá!

umbrella turned into cucumber trellis
Cucumber trellis made by “planting” umbrella and wrapping twine all around for the vines to climb.

That said, after owning a retail gallery for a decade, we also appreciate the value of spending money, shopping locally and supporting Mom’n’Pops whenever possible. Luckily, organic gardening is earth-friendly and can also be a fairly expensive hobby so I get to be good to the earth and support the economy! This, my friends, it what I call “killin’ birds.”

So as I was drifting off to sleep last night I was thinking about all the veggies I’ve planted this year. We have tripled or quadrupled our garden by using every available space for edibles and for the first time I can’t remember every variety off the top of my head.

Pic of the Driveway Area Before Planting Veggies
Driveway area before clearing and planting veggies

So for my own sake and in case anyone else is interested, I’m going to celebrate Earth Day by recapping all the food I’ve planted. I’d love to hear about your experiences growing any of these – tips and tricks, canning suggestions, recipes, etc. are always welcome!

So here it is, my list of veggies planted as of April 22, 2014 and some pics of their progress:

Heirloom Tomatoes:
Cherokee Purple, 2 Green Zebra, 2 Zapotec, 2 Beefsteak, 2 Black Krim, Pineapple, Vorlon, Roma, Large Red Cherry, San Marzano, Large Barred Boar, Bush Goliath, Chocolate Cherry, Purple Prince

Tomatoes in front yard trellised using the Florida Weave method
Tomatoes in front yard trellised using the Florida Weave method. How could I not try something that sounds like a cool hair-do from the 60’s?

Heirloom Corn:
Silver Queen, Glass Gem

Greens:
Vates Blue Scotch Kale, Red Russian Kale, Rainbow Swiss Chard

Peppers:
6 Red Bell, Golden Bell, 3 Serrano, 3 Anaheim, Shishito, Peperoncini, 3 Numex Twilight

ladybug on pepper plant
I’ve had some aphids on my peppers but help has arrived!

Cucumber:
English, Lemon

Squash:
Dark Green Zucchini, Golden Summer Squash, Green Tint Pattypan, White Bush Scalloped, Lemon Squash, Cucuzza Squash, Courgette variety, Round Zucchini

volunteer squash seeds
Mother Nature is hilarious. As I’m busting my booty germinating sprouts, these popped up in a dry shady spot where I dumped kitchen waste a few weeks ago. Of course I have no idea what type of squash or melon it may be… guess we’ll find out!

Artichokes:
Green Globe, Purple de Romagna

Beets:
Golden, Ruby, Albino, Chioggia

Beans & Peas:
Rattlesnake, Dragons Tongue, Fin de Bagnols, Scarlet Emperor, Pinto, Fiskeby Soy, Giant Midori Soy, Blauschokkers Purple Podded Peas, Jacobs Cattle, Kentucky Wonder, Blue Lake
Bean sprouting in veggie garden
My very first bean sprout. Such a hopeful little sign of spring!

Onions, etc.:
Walla Walla, Texas Grano, White Cippolini, Shallots, Sweet White Spanish

Herbs:
Italian Parsley, Corsican Basil, Lemon Basil, Italian Basil, Bouquet Dill, Sage

Potatoes:
Blue Adirondack, Yukon Gold, Reddale, Fingerling

Growing potatoes in fabric pots using organic seed potatoes from Wood Prairie Farm.
Organic seed potatoes from Wood Prairie Farm growing in fabric pots.

There might be more, but my head is about to explode so I think I’ll leave it here for now. I’ve still got more than a dozen tomatoes and peppers, six artichoke seedlings and a handful of gem corn sprouts to go in the ground this week if I can find the space. Oh, and several types of melons to sow, a strawberry Topsy Turvy to try and another gazillion drippers to install. One thing I’ll say for gardening… it’s never boring!

Anyone else gone totally overboard with their garden this year? I’d love to hear about it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~ END POST ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You have an unbelievable amount of stuff on the go. Great repurposing of what might otherwise go in landfill.

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Yes I’ve gone a bit crazy this year! It’s amazing how many more options you have when growing from seed. Glad you enjoyed my trellis idea 🙂

      Like

Please join the conversation!

