Grilled veggie goodness

I really only started cooking ‘for real’ a few years ago and found that I love experimenting in the kitchen. Having an organic garden makes things even more interesting as I grow things I’d never buy if I saw them at the store. Growing them myself feels like less pressure, like as long as I didn’t spend money on it I can be more adventurous.

BBQ Chicken Thighs and Grilled Kale
BBQ Chicken Thighs and Grilled Kale

I have to say too that since we started our garden our vegetable intake has skyrocketed. Ridiculously healthy food I never bought – kale, beets, leeks – just pop out of the ground and it would be disrespectful not to eat them. Since I love cooking outdoors I’ve done a lot of research on grilling the things I grow. Turns out you can grill just about anything and it will taste delicious. I never imagined myself fighting over my share of kale, but then who knew grilled kale tasted so crunchy and nutty and amazing? So these days when I’m throwing chicken or chops on the grill I always make room for whatever veggies we’ve got growing.

Beets and Baby Onions

Beets are fantastic on the grill. I adopted (and corrupted) a recipe from Jamie Oliver that makes beets super sweet and delicious. I start with small beets or beet halves. Leaving the skin on I toss them in olive oil, salt and pepper and wrap them in their own greens. I make a foil packet for that little bundle, add a few springs of rosemary and seal it up. That can then roast on the grill over whatever heat I’m cooking at for about 30 minutes. When it’s ready the skin slides off, which is so much easier than peeling them raw. Then I chop the beets into chunks, add some fresh herbs and a splash of vinegar and it’s really yummy!

We combine them with other grilled goodies, toss them in a salad, or eat them with our fingers while standing at the kitchen counter because we have no class. One marginally successful combo was when I tossed them with these “baby onions” (aka: onions harvested that were so small I didn’t know what else to do but cook them whole.) I say marginally successful only because the red onions were a bit strong for my taste, but Jon liked them.

Baby Red Onions

My “baby onions” were perfect for skewers!

Baby Red Onions on the Grill

Another no-brainer is grilled eggplant. To be honest I’m not a huge fan of eggplant but I grow it because I think it’s so pretty. The lush green leaves with their purple veins and pretty flowers are irresistible to me. Then the stupid thing starts making eggplants and after giving away as many as I can I am forced to eat some myself. What’s a girl to do but slice them thin, coat them in evoo, s & p, and toss them on the grill? And a little goat cheese never hurt anybody.

Grilled Eggplant, Spinach, and Goat Cheese Salad with fresh beets
Grilled Eggplant, Spinach, and Goat Cheese Salad with fresh beets

Since I’ve probably beaten my love for grilled artichokes to death I’ll resist posting yet another photo. But I do love them, well and truly and deeply. If you haven’t tried them you should. I promise, it will be worth the effort. And with that advice  I am off to the garden to see what I can dig up for dinner.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Grilled veggies are the cows moo

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Ah yes, well put. I think.

      Like

  2. Robbie says:

    Oh my goodness, I just came upon your blog and what a treat! You cook like I do!!!! Never measuring things, but you KNOW so much more..I will be reading some of your previous posts to learn how to cook vegetabls on the grill! who would of THUNK they would work on the grill…

    Like

    1. Sheri Fox says:

      Wow, thank you! I hope I can share some yummy ideas. I can’t think of a veggie that didn’t taste better simply grilled with a little salt, pepper and olive oil. Tomatoes are amazing. I visited your blog and it’s awesome! I’m going to learn a lot from you.

      Like

  3. You’re killing me. I love grilled veggies. Definitely didn’t get enough of them this summer, but now that you mention grilled kale… hmmm… come on little kale GROW!

    Like

Please join the conversation!

